Players from nine different clubs have been named in the PFA League One Team of the Year, highlighting the competitive quality of the division during the 2021/22 season.

Only champions Wigan and third place MK Dons, who slipped up in the playoffs, were represented by more than just a single player. League One top scorer Will Keane and defender Jack Whatmough represent the Latics, with Harry Darling and Scott Twine in for the Dons.

Portsmouth stopper Gavin Bazunu got the nod in goal, with Bolton’s Ricard Santos, Rotherham’s Michael Ihiekwe part of the back four.

In midfield, Cameron Brannagan of Oxford and Barry Bannan from Sheffield Wednesday join the ranks, with prolific Sunderland forward Ross Stewart and Morecambe’s Cole Stockton up front alongside the aforementioned Keane.

By admin