The Pro Football Hall of Fame released a list of 54 semifinalists for their Class of 2023.

According to the Hall, “each Semifinalist played his last game in professional football no later than the 1996 season.”

Here is the announcement of the 25 semifinalists, which includes one former Giant:

“The Hall’s 12-person Seniors Committee trimmed a list of eligible nominees to 25 Semifinalists who advance to the next round of consideration: Ken Anderson, Maxie Baughan, Mark Clayton, Roger Craig, LaVern Dilweg, Randy Gradishar, Lester Hayes, Chris Hinton, Chuck Howley, Cecil Isbell, Joe Jacoby, Billy “White Shoes” Johnson, Mike Kenn, Joe Klecko, Bob Kuechenberg, George Kunz, Jim Marshall, Clay Matthews Jr., Eddie Meador, Stanley Morgan, Tommy Nobis, Ken Riley, Sterling Sharpe, Otis Taylor and Everson Walls.”

Of that list, only the defensive back Everson Walls has a connection to the New York Giants. He was a key contributor to the Giants’ Super Bowl XXV championship team after a long career with the Dallas Cowboys.

In addition, 29 coach/contributors were announced, including two former New York Giants coaches, John McVay and Dan Reeves.

McVay coached the Giants in the mid-late 1970s and was at the helm for the 1978 ‘fumble’ game which forced seismic changes in the organization. He went on to build a dynasty in San Francisco as an executive.

Reeves was the Giants’ head coach in the early-mid 1990s after a long successful stretch in Denver. He went 31-33 with one playoff appearance in four seasons with the Giants.

By admin