The NBA has announced the All-Defensive teams for the 2021-22 season.

Boston Celtics’ guard Marcus Smart, who won the 2021-22 Defensive Player of the Year award, led all voters with 99 out of 100 first-team votes.

One voter conspicuously didn’t vote for Smart for either the first or second-team.

Phoenix Suns’ forward Mikal Bridges, Milwaukee Bucks’ forward/center Giannis Antetokounmpo, Utah Jazz’ center Rudy Gobert, and Memphis Grizzlies’ forward Jaren Jackson Jr. unsurprisingly rounded out the first team.

Bridges came in second place in 2021-22 Defensive Player of the Year voting.

Giannis Antetokounmpo won the Defensive Player of the Year award in 2020.

Rudy Gobert is a three-time Defensive Player of the Year.

Jaren Jackson Jr. is a versatile three-level defender who will likely be a candidate for Defensive Player of the Year in the future.

The Celtics and Bucks each added an All-Defensive team member via the second-team; the former with Robert Williams III and the latter with Jrue Holiday.

By admin